Canoe Sprint


Pls find attached the entry form for Sprints next weekend. Entry is by pre-entry only – no entries will be accepted on the day. You must be registered for either 2014 or 2015 to participate.

Date:  28th March 2015

Sprints venue – Peninsula Canoe Club, Zandvlei, Muizenberg

Starting time – 8.00am
Registration confirmation 7.15am – 7.45am

Entry by pre-entry only – see attached entry form for downloading:

Sprints Entry Form 2015


In Canoe Sprint events, athletes race on a straight course, each boat in a separate lane, over three different distances: 200m, 500m, 1000m and 5000m as well as the 200m x 4 relay. There are Kayak events in single (K1), double (K2) and four (K4) boats, and Canoe events in single (C1), double (C2) and four (C4) boats. Traditionally Canoe has been exclusively for Men but there is a growing Women’s contingent and Women’s C1 and C2 are in the World Championship programme from 2010. In a Kayak, the paddler is seated and uses a two-blade paddle, while in a Canoe, the paddler is kneeling on one knee, and uses a single-blade paddle.

Canoe Sprint became an Olympic discipline in 1936 and its programme includes events over 200m, 500m and 1000m (ICF Planet canoe)

The sprint season is built around an autumn racing calendar in April and May each year, culminating in the SA Sprint Championships, and the hugely popular SA Schools Championships.

On the international calender, there are three Sprint World Cups and one ICF World Canoe Sprint Championship that are held annually at differing venues.

The Olympic distances for Sprint canoeing include:

Men K1 and K2, C1 and C2: 200m and 1000m
Men K4: 1000m
Ladies K1 and K2: 200m and 500m
Ladies K4:  500m


Copyright © 2014 Western Cape Canoe Union. Designed and Hosted by: Upington-Online